We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Heat

by Mangoo

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Pre-Order the CD and get the download of the entire album on 12/8/2017.

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Heat via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD or more 


Relief 03:46
Get Away 04:18
Monolith 04:06
One Day 04:07
Deification 04:46
Tiembla 05:01
The Heat 07:13
Grey Belly 04:54


Yeah. You think you’re ready for The Heat, but you’re not.

Catchy hooks and sweet vocal harmonies are nothing new for Finnish rockers Mangoo. On the Turku-based outfit’s third full-length, they come backed by a wall of thick, fuzz-fueled guitars and hard-hitting drums with an added sprinkling of analog synth sounds, combined they result in a sound truly the band’s own – someplace between grunge, classic heavy rock and a progressive psychedelic spaciousness that refuses any and all boundaries of style between rock and metal and beyond.

Mangoo have been busting out the fuzz since 2005 when they released their untitled debut EP. Countless beers, shows and drummers later in 2009 the first full-length, Neolithic, was released on 7:45 Records. With a firm lineup of guitarist/vocalist Pickles, guitarist Mattarn, bassist Igor, drummer Teemu and keyboardist/noisemaker Nicke, they engage new expanses as they follow-up their 2012 Small Stone debut, Neverland, with the 11 songs of The Heat.

Mega-choruses like “Get Away” and “Grey Belly” provide landmarks while Mangoo bring psychedelic heft to “Beyond the Sky” and the title-track, which at seven minutes seems to draw together everything the album that shares its name has to offer – except perhaps in the closing cover of Eddie Murphy’s 1985 single “Party all the Time.” Not that they needed to remind listeners to stay on their toes because you never know what’s coming when Mangoo emerges from the studio, but suffice it to say the track remains an earworm for the ages.

All told, Mangoo’s The Heat is 53 minutes of masterful heavy rock and roll of inimitable personality and unmistakable songcraft. It is a welcome return after half a decade from a band who have obviously not been wasting their time in terms of growth and forward progression, and a surefire highlight for any underground heads lucky enough to take it on.


released December 8, 2017

Mangoo is:
Pickles: lead vocals, guitar
Mattarn: guitar, backing vocals
Nicke: keyboards, backing vocals, percussion, theremin
Igor: bass, backing vocals, lead vocals on 'Tiembla'
Teemu: drums, backing vocals, percussion, music box

Produced, recorded and engineered by Niklas Björklund.
Co-produced by Richard Dahllund, Igor Del Toro, Mathias Åkerlund and Teemu Pulkkinen.
Additional overdubs recorded by Simon Persson at Sensus Studio and by Jussi Vuola at VR Studios.
Mixed by Benny Grotto at Mad Oak Studios.
Mastered by Chris Goodman at Baseline Audio.
Artwork by Alexander Von Wieding.

All songs written by Mangoo (Niklas Björklund, Richard Dahllund, Igor Del Toro, Mathias Åkerlund and Teemu Pulkkinen) except ”Party All the Time” (James A Johnson).
Published by Small Stone Records (ASCAP).


all rights reserved



Small Stone Recordings

Peddling the finest in rock n' roll, psychedelic, stoner, doom, blues, hard rock, fuzz, metal, sludge, vintage 70's style rawk, etc, since 1995!!! True, honest music, made by real, honest people. Available on CD, vinyl, and digital.

contact / help

Contact Small Stone Recordings

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like The Heat, you may also like: